Town Clerk’s Office
Services of the Town Clerk’s Office include:
- Freedom of Information Law (FOIL) Requests
- Dog Licensing
- Hunting/Fishing Licenses
- Parking Permits
- Records Management Officer
- Recording Secretary for the Town Board
- Marriage Licenses
- Birth Certificates
- Death Certificates
- Genealogical Records
- Certified copies of Birth, Marriage and Death Certificates
One-Day Marriage Officiant License
As of March 28, 2023, Town Clerks are now required to issue One-Day Marriage Officiant Licenses in accordance with Domestic Relations Law Section 11-d. Anyone seeking a One-Day Marriage Officiant License must apply at the same Town Clerk’s office who issued the marriage license for the couple whose marriage the individual will be solemnizing.
Applicants must be at least 18 years old and is not required to be a New York State resident. The license is limited to the specific couple identified in the application and expires on the date the couple is married or their marriage license expires, whichever occurs first.
Please visit the New York State Department of Health’s website to review the responsibilities of the officiant performing a marriage ceremony.
The application for One-Day Marriage Officiant License, which is available under Forms & Permits has a fee of $25.00. This can be applied for in person or mailed with a check or money order payable to the Town of Hunter. Please mail completed notarized application to:
Town of Hunter
PO Box 70
Tannersville, NY 12485
DOG LICENSING FEES & PROCESS
The annual fee for an unneutered or unspayed dog is $20.00 and the annual fee for a neutered or spayed dog is $10.00. To license your dog you must provide a copy of an up-to-date rabies certificate. If the dog is spayed/neutered, applicant must show the certificate to the clerk’s office. The license is good for one year from the date of the issuance. A renewal notice will be sent to the owner one month prior to the expiration date. Fees can be paid by cash (if licensing in person), check or money order.
All dogs reaching the age of four months must be licensed.